The Department of Political Science has been functioning meritoriously, ever since its inception in 1968. Being a social science department, it is our responsibility to mould the student community into social engineers and nation builders. Despite being an undergraduate department, it has produced many eminent personalities throughout its history. We are humble but enduring to create wonders by utilizing the excellence of our faculty in the department.
Mission and Vision: The Department lays emphasis on social responsibility of students as citizens of this country. In order to create social awareness and responsibility, the department of Political Science encourages the students to read the daily newspaper and present their report in the classroom. The entire class is then divided into different groups. They are asked to hold group discussions and the leader from each group is asked to read out their findings, which would serve as effective remedies for the problems. Students are also asked to present their views on social issues. Weekly debates, discussions and quiz programmes are conducted by the students, enabling them to express their opinions with confidence. Students are made to gather firsthand information through field study. This will enable them to come into direct contact with reality. Students are asked to present projects based on these studies.
Initially the Department had only two members, Prof. V. Sukumaran Nair (HOD) and Prof. R. Venkidachalam Pillai. The Department is highly indebted to Prof. Sukumaran Nair who was primarily instrumental in starting the department. His relentless pursuit for excellence, tireless efforts and far-sighted vision helped the department to achieve great progress. Prof. Venkidachalam Pillai, who entered the department in 1968 also assisted Prof. Sukumaran Nair in making the department a paragon of excellence.
At present, the department consists of Dr. Rekha Nair R (Assistant Professor & HOD), Smt. Advaita R. Prasad (Assistant Professor), Sri. Anas N (Assistant Professor) and Dr. Jayaprakash M.K (Assistant Professor).


1968Dr.Sukumaran Nair.Retired in 1989
Prof. R.Venkitachalam PillaiRetired in 1992
1970Prof.K.Kochu MuhamedRetired in 1998
Prof.T.K JohnRetired in 1994
Prof.K.VijayammaRetired in 2002
1971Prof.A.George KuttyRetired in 1998
1981K.M.RaziaRetired in 2009
1989Dr. Varghese ThomasRetired in 2015
1989M.NihasudeenRetired in 2009
Retired in 2014
2010Dr.Rekha Nair.R
Smt.Advaita R Prasad
2015Sri. Anas N
2015Dr. Jayaprakash M.K



Objectives & Achievements


Name: Advaita R. Prasad.
Designation: Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: International Relations, Human Rights

DOB & Age: 33 years
Official Address: M S M College Kayamkulam, Alappuzha 690502
Permanent Address: Gurusanthosham, Clappana, Karunagappally
Qualification: M.A (Politics & International Relations), M.Phil (Politics & International Relations), NET (Political Science), NET (International & Area Studies)
Additional Responsibilities:
a. DLMC Convenor
b. Department IQAC-NAAC Coordinator
Professional Experience: 9 years

Name: Dr. Rekha Nair R
Designation: Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: NA

DOB & Age: 1-06-1980, 39 years
Official Address: M S M College Kayamkulam, Alappuzha 690502
Permanent Address: Janaki, Nellippally P.O, Punalur
Qualification: MA Political Science, PhD
Additional Responsibilities: Nil
Professional Experience: 9 Years